USAFE announces 2006 AFA Aerospace Award winners

  • Published
  • By
U.S. Air Forces in Europe has announced its 2006 Air Force Association Aerospace Awards nominees. These nominees won at the USAFE level and are now competing at the Air Force level.

AFA is an independent, nonprofit, civilian organization promoting public understanding of aerospace power and the pivotal role it plays in the security of the nation. AFA is led by volunteer leaders at the national, state and local levels. AFA's state organizations and more than 230 chapters hold elections and conduct programs to increase public understanding of key national security issues in their communities. Programs range from luncheon and dinner activities to symposia and legislative roundtables with Congressional leaders.

The USAFE winners are:

The Citation of Honor: Capt. Bernard Sprute, 48th Security Forces Squadron, Royal Air Force Lakenheath, England

The David C. Schilling Award: 492nd Fighter Squadron, Lakenheath

The Gill Robb Wilson Award: 100th Communications Squadron Support Flight, RAF Mildenhall, England

The Hoyt S. Vandenberg Award: 86th Aeromedical Evacuation Squadron, Ramstein Air Base, Germany

The Theodore Von Karman Award: 31st Misson Support Group, Det.1, 2000 Aviano Program Management Office, Aviano AB, Italy