USAFE Airman named OAY for AF

RAMSTEIN AIR BASE, Germany -- A U.S. Air Forces in Europe Airman was selected as one of the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for the Air Force recently.

Tech. Sgt. Kyle T. Wilson, an Airman Leadership School Instructor assigned to the 86th Force Support Squadron, was one of 12 Airmen selected based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

“Being recognized as an Outstanding Airman of the Year is extremely humbling,” Wilson said. “I consider myself very blessed to work with so many great men and women, each of those individuals played a pivotal role in my success. Every Airmen that I’ve crossed paths with, has inspired me to be the best version of myself possible and each one them are just as deserving of this award. I do not know of another organization in the world with so many superior professionals.”

To be named as one of the top NCO’s is a dream come true and dreams do not work unless you do.”

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force Personnel Center initially considered 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force.

“Tech. Sgt. Wilson embodies the American Airman,” said Master Sgt. Mark Tilsher, the Ramstein ALS School commandant. “His adherence to the core values and dedication to the wingman culture is without equal. Tech. Sgt. Wilson never misses an opportunity to educate, motivate or inspire. He loves to help others succeed, and is driven by helping others reach their own goals, all while being an absolute master of his craft.

Wilson is credited with building the Air Force’s first iTunes U pilot program saving the Air Force approximately $21k a year, leading USAFE’s largest ALS for 2.5 months during a manning shortage, among numerous other accomplishments.

“He has been critical to the success of the Ramstein ALS mission and helped navigate the school through a prolonged mission surge and manning crunch,” Tilsher said. “Wilson is the wingman, leader and warrior you want on your team, and the Air Force is better for having him.”

The 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2017 (listed alphabetically by major command):

Senior Master Sgt. Raymond T. Artis Jr., Pacific Air Forces
Senior Airman Kaitlyn J. Callahan, Air Force Global Strike Command
Senior Airman Brittany F. Fuentes, Air Mobility Command
Master Sgt. Johann Ko, Air Force Reserve Command
Staff Sgt. Stephen F. Lapointe, Air Force Special Operations Command
Master Sgt. Joshua D. Malyemezian, Air Combat Command
Senior Airman Nicole A. Moore, Air Education and Training Command
Tech. Sgt. Jason D. Selberg, Air National Guard
Senior Airman Kacper I. Sovinski, Air Force District of Washington
Master Sgt. Michael J. Stevens, Air Force Materiel Command
Master Sgt. Ashley T. Strong, Air Force Space Command
Staff Sgt. Kyle T. Wilson, United States Air Forces in Europe

The winners are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year badge for one year from the date of formal presentation. The remaining 24 nominees will also be authorized wear of the OAYR.

Additional award information and responsibilities are available via myPers. Select “any” from the dropdown menu and search “12 OAY.”

(Editor’s note: See the main announcement article for the Air Force here: